310 S. Roosevelt ST
Aberdeen, SD 57401

+605 226 2321
fax +605 225 8220 TTY: 711

Mon - Thu 10:00 - 5:00
Friday - 10:00 - 2:30


Facebook Feed

FYI𝗙𝗥𝗔𝗨𝗗 𝗔𝗟𝗘𝗥𝗧!!!It has come to our attention that someone is spoofing our page (AGAIN).Do not click on any links or give out any personal information, especially financial information. We have reported the imposter to Facebook.The ticket giveaway for Brown County Speedway Aberdeen does not end until 9 .m. tomorrow (May 18). We (the Aberdeen Area Convention & Visitors Bureau) will make a separate post with the winners names, in addition to messaging them at 11 a.m.Thank you to all our friends and followers that notified us of this fake posting!𝗣𝗹𝗲𝗮𝘀𝗲 𝗡𝗼𝘁𝗲: The Aberdeen Area Convention & Visitors Bureau will never ask for your credit card information to enter a giveaway. If we do ask you to leave Facebook to enter a giveaway, we’ll only direct you to a page hosted by our website, VisitAberdeenSD.com. To enter some giveaways, in addition to your name, we may ask for city, state, phone number and email address.#VisitAberdeenSD #LiveLocal57401 #HiFromSDAberdeen Area Chamber of Commerce Glacial Lakes & Prairies Tourism Association of Northeast South Dakota South Dakota Missouri River Tourism RDO Equipment Co. Mustang Seeds Lang's Audio, TV & Appliance Insurance Plus Pro Ag Supply Buffalo Wild Wings Ken's SuperFair Foods DemKota Ranch Beef Harr Motors Titan Machinery - Case IH Titan Machinery - New Holland Great Western Bank, a Division of First Interstate Bank Avera St. Luke's Hospital RBL Designs North Central Weed & Pest Control Hub City Radio News - Aberdeen, SD Wissota Auto Racing ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook

History and Development

In November 1969 the City Commission adopted, pursuant to the Housing Authority Law, a resolution to establish a “Housing and Redevelopment Commission” for the city of Aberdeen. Effective January 1, 1970, the first Housing Commissioners were appointed. The Mayor appoints housing commissioners for 5 year terms. They are volunteer, non-paid citizens who contribute substantial time, interest, and effort in overseeing the operation of the Housing Authority according to the rules and regulations passed on from congressional enforcements. Meetings are held once a month, with special meetings as authorized by the Bylaws. The Aberdeen Housing Authority staff completes verifications of each resident’s income and medical expenses, if applicable, no less than every 12 months.

The Aberdeen Housing and Redevelopment Commission administers low-rent, subsidized housing programs in Brown, McPherson, Marshall, Day and Roberts counties.

Year(s) Built

Public Housing Program

75 Homestead Apartments
2222 3rd Ave SE
25 Non-Elderly Family Homes
7 scattered sites

Multi-Family Properties


51 Sherman Apartments
223 S. Main St.
55 Dakota Square Apartments
1902 N. Dakota St.

Tax Credit/Multi-Family Properties

32 Lawson View Townhomes
1315 S. High St.
1316 S. Lawson St.

Tax Credit Properties


28 Sunshine Park Townhomes
1524 S. Lawson St.
32 Meadow Wood Townhomes
2714 1st Ave SE
41 Jackson Heights Apartments
1016 1st Ave SE
40 Central Villas
1901 S Merton St

Section 8 Existing Program

492 Vouchers with Private Landlords
Began 1991

Brown, McPherson, Marshall, Day, & Roberts Counties